Galt Country Club Heritage
From its humble beginnings as a private nine-hole golf club in 1906, serving the residents of the former towns of Galt, Preston, Hespeler, Berlin and Waterloo, through its expansion to 18 holes in 1930, the Galt Country Club has quietly developed a strong tradition as one of the premier private clubs in Southwestern Ontario.
On June 8, 1906, Lt. Governor Wm. Mortimer Clark granted a charter to the Waterloo County Golf and Country Club Limited (now the Galt Country Club). The charter came with a proviso that stated, “Should anyone be caught dealing in, bartering, trafficking in or disposing of spirits, spirituous malts or intoxicating liquors the charter would be revoked.” A few days later, a group of prominent businessmen purchased a rolling 86-acre parcel of farmland along the banks of the Grand River and the following spring the course and new clubhouse had its grand opening.
Percy Barrett, an assistant professional at the Lambton Golf Club in Toronto, designed the original nine-hole layout of the golf course. By 1930, under the direction of acclaimed Canadian golf course architect Stanley Thompson, the golf course was expanded to 18 holes.
Continuous improvements to the Club have occurred over the years. The most recent being the redevelopment of the 10th, 15th, 16th and 17th holes that opened for their first full season of play in 2006. Golf course architect Doug Carrick supervised the renovation project by his former associate Ian Andrew.
Although relatively short by today’s standards at 6,304 yards, par 70, the Club is a challenging parkland design that many members consider as a “Hidden Gem.” As you would expect from a golf course of this vintage, tree-lined fairways dominate the landscape providing a natural and intimate golf experience, while the Grand River Valley adds to its natural beauty.